Metal Massacre V/A Volume 14 CD


In 1982, Metal Blade Records put out its first release: Metal Massacre, a compilation album that included Metallica, Ratt, and many other influential artists. Now, Metal Blade will be releasing Metal Massacre 14 on April 8th – and continuing the legacy of the first album – the CD/LP/digital formats will once again contain a sampling of contemporary heavy metal.

Primordial‘s Alan Averill – who compiled the Metal Massacre 14 track-listing – comments: “‘Metal Massacre‘ is an institution that has been dormant for far too long. It served as a vital first step for many bands who are far too numerous to mention back in the early 80s. For fans, it was often the first time engaging with many of these acts, some of whom went on to become household names– some of course didn’t, but the rough and ready underground character of ‘Metal Massacre‘ is what set it apart from other compilations back in the day.

Those old recordings captured the vitality and energy of the time: all analog hiss, rattling drums, roaring bass and feed-backing solos…No pro tools compression, cut and paste editing or triggered drums back then. You set the tape rolling and then played for your life. It was in this spirit that I went about compiling a new ‘Metal Massacre‘, with an old school mindset.

Not the most modern sounding, but the bands that capture a more DIY underground spirit that resonates with what ‘Metal Massacre‘ once represented. Of course the musical climate is different, and you probably won’t be listening to the next Metallica, but what is important is that this spirit does not die and that Metal Blade still supports this underground, underdog ethos.

So I give you ‘Metal Massacre‘! Back from the dead! Here’s to the next one!”

  • Metal Massacre 14 CD track-listing
  • 01. The Traveller (Metalian)
  • 02. Until Then…Until the End (Noctum)
  • 03. Bell of Tarantia (Gatekeeper)
  • 04. The Demented Force (Assassin’s Blade)
  • 05. Denim Attack (Cobra)
  • 06. The Siege of Jerusalem (Stone Dagger)
  • 07. Will of the Ancient Call (Crypt Sermon)
  • 08. The Ripper in Black (Savage Master)
  • 09. No Tomorrow (Outcast)
  • 10. Brothers (Corsair)

  • Add to Cart:

    • Shipping Weight: 0.25lbs
    • Manufactured by: Metal Blade Records

    Ask a question about this item

    Please Choose:

    Shipping without jewel cases

    This product was added to our catalog on Friday 01 July, 2016.

    Customers who bought this product also purchased...

    Your IP Address is:
    Copyright © 2021 Dark Descent Records. Powered by Zen Cart
    Design by Interactive Business Solutions Co.